Economics Sub Committee (ESC)

Page last updated: 26 February 2018

Information on members of the Economics Sub-Committee (ESC) of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

The Economics Sub Committee (ESC) of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) assesses clinical and economic evaluations of medicines submitted to the PBAC for listing, and advises PBAC on the technical aspects of these evaluations.

ESC contact details can be found in PBS Contacts

Current Membership

Professor Kirsten Howard (Chair) is a health economist and Professor at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney. She is also a member of the PBAC.

Professor Michael Hensley is conjoint Professor of Medicine at the School of Medicine and Public Health of the University of Newcastle. 

Professor Sarah Hilmer is the Head of Department of Clinical Pharmacology, and a Senior Staff Specialist in Aged Care at the Royal North Shore Hospital.  She is also a Conjoint Professor of Geriatric Pharmacology at the Sydney Medical School at the University of Sydney. 

Professor Jonathan Karnon is a health economist at the School of Public Health, University of Adelaide. 

Dr Tracey Laba is a Research Fellow at The George Institute for Global Health specialising in health economics. Her main area of research interest is medications adherence.

Associate Professor Clement Loy is a clinical epidemiologist at the University of Sydney, and Director & neurologist, Huntington Disease Service, Westmead Hospital Sydney.

Dr Kylie Mason is a clinical and laboratory haematologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and an NHMRC Clinical Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Cathrine Mihalopoulos is a health economist at Deakin Health Economics, School of Health and Social Development, Deakin University. 

Associate Professor David Newby is a community pharmacist in Newcastle, acting Discipline Lead in Clinical Pharmacology, Joint Medical Program, and the Course coordinator for Epidemiology and pharmacoeconomics, Master of Pharmacy Program in the Faculty of Health at the University of Newcastle. He is also a member of the PBAC. 

Dr Richard Norman is a health economist and a Senior Research Fellow in the School of Public Health at Curtin University.

Dr Tim Spelman is a biostatistician and general practitioner at the Melbourne Brain Centre, Melbourne University, the Burnet Institute, the Doherty Institute, St Vincent's Hospital Department of Surgery and the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University.

Dr Helen Toyne is a GP working in clinical practice in Mawson and the Medical and Counselling Service at the University of Canberra. She is a Fellow of the RACGP and has a background in academic general practice and as the GP Advisor to the ACT government. She was a member of DUSC for several years before moving to ESC.

Professor Andrew Wilson is the Chair of the PBAC.  He has specialist professional qualifications in clinical medicine and public health medicine and a PhD in epidemiology. 

Dr Ray Parkin is a consultant physician and cardiologist who has vast experience working in rural and regional areas of NSW. He is also a member of the PBAC.

Ms Elizabeth de Somer is the industry member nominated by Medicines Australia.

Ms Jo Watson is the Deputy Chair of the PBAC. She is also the Chair of the Health Technology Assessment Consumer Consultative Committee, Deputy Chair of the Consumers Health Forum, and a long standing consumer nominee and advocate.