Economics Sub Committee (ESC)

Page last updated: 2 September 2019

Information on members of the Economics Sub-Committee (ESC) of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

The Economics Sub Committee (ESC) of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) assesses clinical and economic evaluations of medicines submitted to the PBAC for listing, and advises PBAC on the technical aspects of these evaluations.

ESC contact details can be found in PBS Contacts

Current Membership

Professor Kirsten Howard (Chair) is a health economist and Professor at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney. She is also a member of the PBAC.

Dr Vicki Gardiner is the industry member nominated by Medicines Australia.

Professor Michael Hensley is conjoint Professor of Medicine at the School of Medicine and Public Health of the University of Newcastle. 

Professor Sarah Hilmer is the Head of Department of Clinical Pharmacology, and a Senior Staff Specialist in Aged Care at the Royal North Shore Hospital.  She is also a Conjoint Professor of Geriatric Pharmacology at the Sydney Medical School at the University of Sydney. 

Professor Jonathan Karnon is a health economist in the College of Medicine and Public Health, Flinders University, South Australia.

Dr Tracey Laba is a Research Fellow at The George Institute for Global Health specialising in health economics. Her main area of research interest is medications adherence. She is also a member of DUSC.

Professor Emily Lancsar is Head of Department of Health Services Research and Policy at the Australian National University. She is also a member of MSAC ESC.

Dr Kylie Mason is a clinical haematologist/bone marrow transplant physician at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and an NHMRC Clinical Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne. She is also a member of the PBAC.

Professor Cathrine Mihalopoulos is a health economist at Deakin Health Economics, School of Health and Social Development, Deakin University. 

Associate Professor David Newby is a community pharmacist in Newcastle, and an academic in the Discipline of Pharmacy and Experimental Pharmacology, School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy, at the University of Newcastle. 

Dr Richard Norman is a health economist and a Senior Research Fellow in the School of Public Health at Curtin University.

Dr Ray Parkin is a consultant physician and cardiologist in Bathurst NSW, who has many years’ experience working in rural and regional health centres. He also has a postgraduate qualifications in Bioethics and Drug Development, and has co-ordinated a number of Phase II/III trials in Australia. He is also a member of the PBAC.

Dr Tim Spelman is a biostatistician and general practitioner at the Melbourne Brain Centre, Melbourne University, the Burnet Institute, the Doherty Institute, St Vincent's Hospital Department of Surgery and the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University.

Dr Helen Toyne is a GP working in clinical practice in Mawson and the Medical and Counselling Service at the University of Canberra. She is a Fellow of the RACGP and has a background in academic general practice and as the GP Advisor to the ACT government. She was a member of DUSC for several years before moving to ESC.

Ms Jo Watson is the Deputy Chair of the PBAC. She is also the Chair of the Health Technology Assessment Consumer Consultative Committee, Deputy Chair of the Consumers Health Forum, and a long standing consumer nominee and advocate.

Professor Andrew Wilson is the Chair of the PBAC.  He has specialist professional qualifications in clinical medicine and public health medicine and a PhD in epidemiology. He is the Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy at the University of Sydney