PBS News

Reference Committee for the Health Technology Assessment Policy and Methods Review

Page last updated: 10 April 2022

Please note: The information on this page may no longer be current and is only included here for historical reference.

Updated information can be found on the following News page.

On 6 September 2021, the Commonwealth entered into a new Strategic Agreement in relation to reimbursement, health technology assessment and other matters (Strategic Agreement) with Medicines Australia acting on behalf of the innovator medicines industry.

Under clause 5.3 of the Strategic Agreement, it was agreed that the Commonwealth would support and resource a Health Technology Assessment Policy and Methods Review (Review).

The Government has invited the following candidates to serve on the Reference Committee for the Review.

  • Independent Chair: Dr Peter Boxall AO
  • Patient Representatives: Ms Ann Single and Dr Dawn Casey PSM
  • Chair of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC): Professor Andrew Wilson
  • Clinical/Scientific representative: Professor Andrew Roberts AM
  • Industry Representative: Mr John Young
  • Government Nominee: Ms Adriana Platona PSM

The functions of the Reference Committee will include:

  • agreeing the terms of reference for the Review
  • agreeing the expert in HTA to undertake an analysis of current methods used by PBAC, contemporary research and relevant methodologies and purchasing practices used by comparable jurisdictions
  • overseeing public consultations and considering submissions to the review
  • overseeing the analysis undertaken by the expert in HTA
  • preparing and agreeing the final review report and recommendations for the Review

Once formed, the first task of the Reference Committee will be to prepare the terms of reference for the Review in consultation with the PBAC, and other stakeholders including Medicines Australia.

For further information about the Review, please visit the Strategic Agreements with the Medicines Industry page.