Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) Membership

Page last updated: 28 July 2023

The PBAC is an independent expert body appointed by the Australian Government. Members include doctors, health professionals, health economists and consumer representatives.

Its primary role is to recommend new medicines for listing on the PBS. No new medicine can be listed unless the committee makes a positive recommendation.  The PBAC meets three times a year, usually in March, July and November.

When recommending a medicine for listing, the PBAC takes into account the medical conditions for which the medicine was registered for use in Australia, its clinical effectiveness, safety and cost-effectiveness (‘value for money’) compared with other treatments.

PBAC has two sub-committees to assist with analysis and advice in these areas:

Contact details for the PBAC can be found in PBS Contacts

Agendas, outcomes and public summary documents of PBAC meetings can be found under elements of the listing process

Current Membership

Professor Andrew Wilson is the Chair of the PBAC.  He has specialist professional qualifications in clinical medicine and public health medicine and a PhD in epidemiology. 

Ms Michelle Burke is the industry nominee. She has more than 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry, contributing in areas which include access to medicines and industry development.

Professor Jonathan Craig is the Vice President and Executive Dean of the College of Medicine & Public Health at Flinders University, SA. He is also the President of the Australia-NZ Society of Nephrology, a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Advisory Group on the Synthesis and Translation of Research Evidence and a member of Medical Services Advisory Committee (MSAC).

Professor Joseph Doyle is an infectious diseases and public health physician at Alfred Health and Monash University, and Deputy Director of Disease Elimination at Burnet Institute. He is President-elect of the Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases and steering committee member of the Communicable Diseases Network of Australia. 

Professor Christopher Etherton-Beer is a professor of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Western Australia and a Consultant Physician of Geriatric Medicine at the Royal Perth Hospital. He is also the Chair of the Drug Utilisation Sub-Committee of the PBAC.

Dr Peter Fox is a medical oncologist in central west New South Wales. He is an oncology clinical trial investigator, and has an interest in equity of access to health care in rural areas.  He is a senior lecturer at Western Sydney University.

Associate Professor Peter Grimison is a medical oncologist at the Chris O’Brien Lifehouse in Sydney, and conducts clinical research at the University of Sydney. 

Associate Professor (Peter) Shane Hamblin is the head of unit, Endocrinology and Diabetes for Western Health, Melbourne and is also a consultant endocrinologist at the Alfred Hospital. He also has current university appointments with the University of Melbourne and Monash University.

Professor Kirsten Howard is a Professor of Health Economics at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney.  She is also Chair of the Economics Sub-Committee of the PBAC, with extensive experience in the health economics field.

Dr Amanda Johnston is a clinical and laboratory Haematologist at Westmead Hospital, Sydney.

Professor Clement Loy is a cognitive neurologist and clinical epidemiologist. He serves as Director of the Huntington Disease Service at Westmead Hospital Sydney, and Head of School & Dean of Macquarie Medical School, Macquarie University.

Dr Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis is a general practitioner and Senior Lecturer in Primary Care at the University of Melbourne. She is a Fellow of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP).

Associate Professor Liz Marles is a general practitioner and Director of the Hornsby-Brooklyn General Practice Unit and is also the Clinical Director for Primary Care at the Australian Commission for Safety and quality in Healthcare. She is an Honorary Clinical Associate Professor with Macquarie University, a Director and past Chair of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited, and a member of the Medicare Review Advisory Committee. Liz is also a past President of the RACGP. 

Dr Kylie Mason is a clinical and laboratory haematologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and an National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Clinical Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

Dr Susannah Morris is a social policy expert by profession who works as health consumer advocate and representative with particular interests and experience in the field of cancer care.

Associate Professor David Newby is a community pharmacist in Newcastle, and an academic in the Discipline of Pharmacy and Experimental Pharmacology, School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy, at the University of Newcastle. 

Dr Meena Okera is a medical oncologist at the Adelaide Cancer Centre.  She is also a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians with extensive experience and involvement to the development of the Northern Territory Cancer Plan.

Dr Ray Parkin is a consultant physician and cardiologist in Bathurst NSW, who has many years’ experience working in rural and regional health centres. He also has a postgraduate qualifications in Bioethics and Drug Development, and has co-ordinated a number of Phase II/III trials in Australia.

Ms Jo Watson is the Deputy Chair of the PBAC. She is also the Chair of the Health Technology Assessment Consumer Consultative Committee, Deputy Chair of the Consumers Health Forum, and a long standing consumer nominee and advocate.


Top of page