Drug Utilisation Sub Committee (DUSC)

Drug Utilisation Sub Committee (DUSC)

Drug Utilisation Sub Committee (DUSC) of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) assesses estimates on projected usage and financial cost for medicines.

It also collects and analyses data on actual use (including in comparison with different countries), and provides advice to PBAC.

DUSC contact details can be found in PBS Contacts


Current Membership

Professor Geoff McColl is a rheumatologist and Professor of Medical Education and Training in the Melbourne Medical School at the University of Melbourne.

Dr Sallie Pearson is a research academic specialising in clinician behaviour change, pharmacoepidemiology and pharmaceutical policy evaluation. She is the head of the Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmaceutical Policy Research Group at the University of Sydney.

Ms Jan Donovan is a consumer advocate with experience on a number of committees in health, ageing and pharmaceutical policy.

Ms Debra Rowett is a clinical pharmacist and Director of the Drug and Therapeutics Information Service at the Repatriation General Hospital, South Australia.

Associate Professor Libby Roughead is a pharmacoepidemiologist at the Sansom Institute, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, University of South Australia.

Ms Kate Lynch is the Chief Executive Officer of the Generic Medicines Industry Association.

Dr Jonathan Dartnell is a pharmacist and the Executive Manager, Innovation and Learning of the NPS.

Dr Rashmi Sharma is a general practitioner and Practice Principal of a large teaching practice in Canberra where she supervises nursing and medical students, interns and GP registrars. She is a Senior Lecturer at the ANU Medical School and President of the ACT Division of General Practice. She is a board member and medical educator for the regional general practice training provider, Coast City Country GP Training Ltd.

Dr Frances Wilson is Senior Staff Specialist in Psychiatry and Clinical Director, Adult Psychiatry Unit at Westmead Hospital. She is a Clinical Senior Lecturer at Sydney University.

Professor Emily Banks is a medically trained epidemiologist with interest and expertise in large scale cohort studies, pharmacoepidemiology, women’s health, and healthy ageing. Professor Banks is currently the Scientific Director of the NSW 45 and Up Study and an NHMRC Senior Research Fellow at the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, at the Australian National University.

Dr Suzanne Hill is a clinical pharmacologist previously employed as a Scientist in the Department of Medicines Policy and Standards at the World Health Organisation (WHO) in Geneva, Switzerland. Prior to this she was Associate Professor/ Senior Lecturer, Clinical Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Newcastle. She is the Chair of the PBAC.

Dr Alasdair Millar is a physician and clinical pharmacologist based in Western Australia.

Ms Elizabeth DeSomer is the nominated member from Medicines Australia.

Ms Belinda Wood is the nominated member from Generic Medicines Industry Association.